Community Engagement

AUHE – Australian Heads of University English

UNSW English staff have been centrally involved in establishing the AUHE and continue to hold executive positions within the association. Australian University Heads of English is a peak body drawing together English departments at more than 30 universities as well as existing literary associations. It is a forum in which the present and future of literary studies in Australia is discussed and shaped and addresses issues such as the relationship between English in secondary and tertiary education, quality assurance in teaching, research funding, enrolments, curriculum as well as pedagogic strategies for teaching literature in English. The AUHE is also responsible for judging the annual Voss Literary Award. Information about its activities can be found on its website.

ASAL – The Association for the Study of Australian Literature

UNSW English staff have taken on a number of executive roles, including as president, within the peak international Australian literature body, ASAL. Our postgraduates are also active within the association. ASAL promotes the study, discussion and creation of Australian writing and seeks to increase awareness of Australian writing in the wider community and throughout the world. ASAL is responsible for judging a number of significant literary awards including the ALS Gold Medal (Australia’s oldest literary award), The Walter McRae Russell Prize, the Mary Gilmore Prize. ASAL holds conferences and maintains a directory of postgraduate research on its website.


Southerly is Australia’s oldest literary journal and has been publishing continuously since 1939. It is jointly edited by Elizabeth McMahon. Southerly’s publishes three issues per year and a 12 monthly program of writers’ blogs. Its remit is to publish new, high-quality creative work, including fiction, memoir and poetry, alongside works of literary analysis and review that re-animate Australia's literary archive and focus current debates in the field.

Journal of the Association for the Study of Australian Literature - JASAL

JASAL is an online, free open-access, fully peer-reviewed journal with a focus on Australian literature, jointly edited by Brigitta Olubas. The editorial board is made up of leading international scholars in the field of Australian literary studies.

Open Humanities Press

Open Humanities Press (OHP) is a scholar-led open access publishing initiative co-founded in 2006 by Dr Sigi Jottkandt, Lecturer in English, in the UNSW School of the Arts and Media. Since launching in 2008 with 5 journals, OHP currently represents 14 open access journals in Critical Theory and Cultural Studies. In 2009, it partnered with the University of Michigan Library to begin publishing book-length research. OHP's editorial board is made up of many of today's leading philosophers and thinkers including Stephen Greenblatt, Gayatri Spivak, J. Hillis Miller and others, several of whom are editing high-profile book series in areas such as Critical Climate Change, New Metaphysics and Liquid Books.

Juvenilia Press

Juvenilia Press publishes early works by a variety of writers such as Jane Austen, Charlotte Brontë, Lewis Carroll, Charles Dickens, Philip Larkin and Margaret Atwood. Its scholarly editions of early writings by children and adolescents (up to the approximate age of twenty) provide a window on the writer's development and engaging glimpses of the young genius at work. Led by Professor Emerita Christine Alexander, the Juvenilia Press collaborates each year on behalf of UNSW and the School of the Arts and Media with the Randwick City Council in awarding and publishing The Lionel Bowen Young Writers Awards.